DISTRICT OF GASPE

From the very beginning of the establishment of Royal Military Government by the English in Canada in 1764, the importance which England attributed to Gaspé on account of its geographic situation and the enthusiastic reports of Wolfe and his officers (Bell, Amherst and Wolfe himself, whose journal and correspondence are extant) was the reason for setting it up as a separate district under the name "District of Gaspé" with a Lieutenant Governor at its head. The first one, who seems never to have made an actual appearance in the "District", was a certain Elliott, assisted in his judicial administration by justices of the peace, whose names if indeed there really were any have become lost in the dust of forgetfulness.

LIEUTENANT GOVERNORS 1777 To 1833

At the time of the abolition of Royal Government in 1774 and of the reneal of the laws and ordinances promulgated under its authority, Gaspé retained its prerogative. The first Lieutenant Governor under the new regime was Nicholas Cox, who had served as an officer under Wolfe at the sieges of Louisburg and Quebec. He had also taken part in the defence of Quebec against the the Americans in 1776 as a staff-officer to Lord Dorchestor.

Cox arrived in Gaspé in the spring of 1777. His residence was to be established at Gaspé. In actual fact, probably because of the greater importance of Percé at that time, it was at this latter place that he took up residence, alternating occasionally with New Carlisle. He set himself immediately to the taking of the census, the settlement of the Loyalists, the defence of the coast against American pirates, as well as to intercessions and measures in favour of the mhabitants who were in his charge. Cox seems to have spared neither his time nor his pains to secure solid

foundations for this Gaspesian district, He did all this, it seems, in a spirit of justice and discipline, which won for him the affection of all. His salary was a thousand pounds per year " and a few other considerations"

cox having retired and obtained his pension in 1788 (he died in 1794 after having served his king loyally for fifty-two years) and the new Constitutionel Government, having retained for Gaspé its former privilere even though it applied the term county to what had been called the District of Gaspé up to that thme, Colonel Frances Le Maistre succeeded him. The new Lieutenant-Governor's commission is dated the fourth of September, 1794. Adjutant-General of Militia for Quebec, Le Maistre too settled in Percé. Did he accomplish anything there? There is nothing to indicate that he did. In fact there is only one ordinance signed in his hand dated from Percé, but addressed to the Chief of the Indians at Restigouche At the same time as his death was announced in 1805 the official Gazette gave notice of the sale by auction for his furniture, the fourth of June, and of his property the following twenty-eighth of Nevember.

The third and last Lieutenant-Governor of Gaspé, Alexander Forbes, was the captain of a schooner. Having neither Cox's sense of duty, nor even Le Maistre's love of home, Forbes was soon considered by the Provincial Exchequer as a useless by by the and his job as a pure sinecure at a time when there were many others to be provided for elsewhere.

From 1821 to 1833 a dispute broke out between the Assembly and the Governor. The latter insisted on maintaining the position and salary of Lieutenant-Governor whereas the Assembly reduced the salary to three hundred pounds, then to two hundred pounds,

And finally refused to place the incumbent on the Civil List. In 1833 everything was straightened out. The Assembly agreed to pay the Arreas due to Forbes and to assure him a pension, but definitely abolished the Position of Lieutenant - Governor of Gaspe.

Quebec Administrators 1867 - 1958

Lieutenant -Governors

Sir Narcissee F. Belleau	- 1867 1873
Hon. Rene Edouard Caron	- 1873 1876
H on. Luc Letellier de ST Just	- 1876 1879
Hon. Theodore Robitaille	1879 1884
Hon. L. F. Rodrigue Masson	1884 1887
Hon. Auguste Real Angers	1887 1892
Sir J. Adolphe Chapleay	1892 1898
Sir Louis A. Jette	1898 1908
Sir C. A. Pantaleon Pelletier	1908 1911
Sir Francois Langelier	- 1911 — 1915
Sir P. Evariste Leblanc	1915 1918
Sir Charles Fitzpaterick	1918 1923
Hon. Louis Phillippe Brodeur	1923 1924
H on. Narcisse Pérodeau	1924 1929
Sir Lomer Gouin	1929 1929
Hon. Henry George Carroll	- 1929 1934
Hon. E. L. Patenaude	1934 1939
Sir Eugene Fiset	1939 1950
Hon. Gaspard Fauteux	1950 1950
Hon. Onesime Gagnon	1957

PRIME MINISTERS

1. Chauveau (Hon. Pierre J.O. Con	S Elected, July 15,1867 1873
2. Ouimet (Hon. Gedeon) CCNS	
3. Bourcherville (Hon. Charles Bou	cher <u>CcMs</u> Elected September 22,1374 1878
4. Joly (Hon. Henri G.)	Elected March 8, 1878 1379
5. Chapleau (Hon. J. Adolphe)	VS Elected October 31,1379 1882
6. Mousseau (Hon. J. Alfred) C	Elected August 1,1932 1384
7. Ross (Hon. John Janes) - Co	NS Elected January 23, 1384 1887
8. Taillon (Hon. L. Olivier)	W's Elected January 13, 1387 1387
	Elected January 29, 1337 1391
10. Boucherville (Hon. Charles Bou	cher) CONS Elected December 21, 1391 1392
ll. Taillon (Hon. L. Olivier)	Elected December 16, 1892 1896
12. Flynn (Hon. Edmund J.)	Elected May 11 1896 1397
13. Marchand (Hon. F. Gabriel) -	L.6 Elected May 24 1897 1900
14. Parent (Hon. S. Napoleon) -	<u> </u>
15. Gouin (Hon. Sir Lomer) L.	Elected March 23, 1905 1920
16. Taschereau (Hon. L. Alexander)	Elected July 9, 1920 1936
17. Godbout (Hon. Adelard L.) =	Elected June 11, 1936 1936
18. Duplessis (Hon. Maurice K.)	M.W Elected August 24, 1936 — 1939
19. Godbout (Hon. Alelard, N.U	Elected November 8, 1939 1944
20. Duplessis (Hon. Maurice N.U.	Elected August 30, 1944

BIOGRAPHICAL NOTES

THE HONOURABLE MAURICE Le NOBLET DUPLESSIS

PREMIER OF QUEBEC

The Honourable Maurice LeNoblet Duplessie, B.A., LL.B., LL.D., legislator, Was born on April 20th. 1390 in Three Rivers Quebec. Son of the Honourable N.L. Duplessie (Judge) and Berth Genest.

Educated at local schools and graduated from Laval University with . B.A., LL.B., and LL.D. Degrees. He also holds Honoray LL.D.'s from Bishops University and the University de Caen, France.

2

Premier of Quebec since 1944. Partner in the legal firm Duplessis,
Langlois and Lamothe, Three Rivers. Defeated candidate in the Quebec Legislature
for Three Rivers in the General election in 1923. First elected to the Quebec
Legislature for that constituency in the general election in 1927, and re elected
at subsequent general elections.

Chosen leader of the Provincial Conservative Party in Quebec in October 1933. Formed the National Union Party in 1936. Premier, President of the Council and Attorney General of Quebec 1936 - 39 opposition leader of Quebec 1939 - 44.

Awarded Great Cross of Order of Liberator San Martin (Argentina). He is single a Roman Catholic and his Residence is at 227 Laviolette Ave. Three Rivers Quebec.

MEMBERS FOR THE PROVINCIAL HOUSE OF COMMONS OF QUEBEC FOR GASPE COUNTY SINCE 1867.

Fortin Pierre — C. W S Elected September 23rd 1867 — 1878		
Flynn Edmund James - Can S Elected April 29th 1878 1890		
Carrier Achille Ferdinand Elected July 12th 1890 1892		
Flynn The Hon. Edmond James Con Elected March 8th 1892 - 1901		
Kennedy Xavier Elected January 5th 1901 1904		
Lemieux, Louis Joseph ————————————————————————————————————		
Perron, Joseph Leonide 4.6 Elected February 29th 1910 1912		
Lemieux Gustave		
Gaspe South		
Chouinard, A. (L) Elected August 17th 1731 1936		
Pouliot, E. (1.N.) Elected August 17th 1936		
Appointed Minister of games & fisheries August 30th, 1944.		